News: 2008

A new choral piece published

For the January/February 2009 edition, Choir and Organ magazine commissioned Robert to write a motet for their regular New Music feature. The motet, Ave verum corpus, is for SSAATTBB and can be reproduced and used for free for 6 months. To view the score as a PDF and to read about the piece, please visit

We finally get to Langa...

After a last-minute technical glitch prevented the first performance of Robert’s Cycling to Langa at rarescale’s 5th birthday concert in September, Carla Rees (alto and bass flutes) and Michael Oliva (electronics) of rarescale premiered the piece on 13 December 2008 at St Leonard’s, Shoreditch.

rarescale present postponed premiere of Cycling to Langa

After an unfortunate technical glitch prevented the premiere of Cycling to Langa at rarescale’s wonderful 5th anniversary concert on 13 September, the premiere has been re-scheduled for 13 December at St Leonard’s, Shoreditch. Along with the first performance of this piece for alto and bass flutes with looping, premieres of music by Rob Ratcliffe and Michael Csanyi-Wills will be heard.

St Leonard’s Church, Shoreditch High Street, London

13 December 2008 at 7.30pm

Sounds Underground appointment

Robert has been appointed Artistic Director of independent new music organisation Sounds Underground.

Please visit for more information about Sounds Underground.

Kosmos at the West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge

Remarkable young string trio Kosmos (Harriet Mackenzie, Meg Hamilton and Laura Anstee) perform a concert at Cambridge’s premiere venue, the West Road Concert Hall, for The New Europe Society. Along with their own original  arrangements and compositions, they perform Robert Fokkens’s uMadosini, umama wam and Limping Dance.

West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge

Friday 21 November 2008 at 7.30pm

Fibonacci Sequence at the Bognor Regis Music Club

Dazzlingly good chamber ensemble (The Times) The Fibonacci Sequence perform Robert Fokkens’s Tracing Lines for alto flute and cello in a recital of music for flute, cello and piano for the Bognor Regis Music Club. The programme includes Haydn and Martinu trios, performed by Kathron Sturrock (piano), Ileana Ruhemann (flute) and Benjamin Hughes (cello).

Saturday 15 Nov 2008 8:00 PM
Bognor Regis Music Club



Strings and sticks and...

Sounds Underground, an independent organisation devoted to the promotion of new music in the UK, presented a concert on 24 October at the remarkable Bishopsgate Institute in which Tom Hankey (violin) and Oliver Coates (cello) presented the UK premiere of the complete version of Robert’s Tracing Lines. The concert, entitled strings and sticks and... included some remarkable music by Larry Goves, Anna Meredith, Matt Rogers and others.

strings and sticks and...

Sounds Underground starts their new season of events with an explosive set of modern works for violin, cello and percussion, written by some of the most compelling and characterful younger voices of today’s scene. Ravel’s classic sonata brings with it echoes of jazz and non-classical influences, something which a listener may also perceive in new works by Matt Rogers and Anna Meredith. Robert Fokkens’ duo explores an exceptionally beautiful and hushed new approach to micro-tonal writing, heightening the expressive effect of intonation.

Matthew Rogers White Crane for violin, cello and percussion*
Anna Meredith Hex I and II for violin and cello
Anna Meredith Flex for five metal pieces
Robert Fokkens Tracing Lines for violin and cello*
Virginia Samuel Coronae for violin and cello*
Larry Goves Five Kerouac Haiku for violin, cello and percussion*
Maurice Ravel Sonata for violin and cello


Tom Hankey (violin)
Oliver Coates (cello)
Sarah Cresswell (percussion)

Friday 24 October 2008 at 7.30pm
The Great Hall, Bishopsgate Institute, London

Tickets £10, or £6 concessions, available in advance or on the door.

Tel: 020 7392 9220

For more details visit the Bishopsgate Institute website.

Four Colonisations in Potchefstroom

As part of North-West University’s annual concert of contemporary South African music, Robert Fokkens’s Four Colonisations will be performed by soprano Mandie de Villiers-Schutte and pianist Waldo Weyer. The concert includes works by Grove, Zaidel-Rudolph and Taljaard.

Tuesday 14 October at 7.30pm

Conservatory Hall, North-West University, Potchefstroom



Clockwise in New York

Harp and violin duo Clockwise (Jacqueline Kerrod, harp and Marc Uys, violin) present an exciting programme of newly commissioned South African works at Trinity Church, Wall Street in New York. Alongside Robert Fokkens’s approach, encounter they present work by Michael Rennie, Matthijs van Dijk and Paul Hanmer. The concert will be telecast live and on-demand online - see for further information.

Trinity Church, Wall Street, New York

02 October at 1.00pm