News: October, 2008

Strings and sticks and...

Sounds Underground, an independent organisation devoted to the promotion of new music in the UK, presented a concert on 24 October at the remarkable Bishopsgate Institute in which Tom Hankey (violin) and Oliver Coates (cello) presented the UK premiere of the complete version of Robert’s Tracing Lines. The concert, entitled strings and sticks and... included some remarkable music by Larry Goves, Anna Meredith, Matt Rogers and others.

strings and sticks and...

Sounds Underground starts their new season of events with an explosive set of modern works for violin, cello and percussion, written by some of the most compelling and characterful younger voices of today’s scene. Ravel’s classic sonata brings with it echoes of jazz and non-classical influences, something which a listener may also perceive in new works by Matt Rogers and Anna Meredith. Robert Fokkens’ duo explores an exceptionally beautiful and hushed new approach to micro-tonal writing, heightening the expressive effect of intonation.

Matthew Rogers White Crane for violin, cello and percussion*
Anna Meredith Hex I and II for violin and cello
Anna Meredith Flex for five metal pieces
Robert Fokkens Tracing Lines for violin and cello*
Virginia Samuel Coronae for violin and cello*
Larry Goves Five Kerouac Haiku for violin, cello and percussion*
Maurice Ravel Sonata for violin and cello


Tom Hankey (violin)
Oliver Coates (cello)
Sarah Cresswell (percussion)

Friday 24 October 2008 at 7.30pm
The Great Hall, Bishopsgate Institute, London

Tickets £10, or £6 concessions, available in advance or on the door.

Tel: 020 7392 9220

For more details visit the Bishopsgate Institute website.

Four Colonisations in Potchefstroom

As part of North-West University’s annual concert of contemporary South African music, Robert Fokkens’s Four Colonisations will be performed by soprano Mandie de Villiers-Schutte and pianist Waldo Weyer. The concert includes works by Grove, Zaidel-Rudolph and Taljaard.

Tuesday 14 October at 7.30pm

Conservatory Hall, North-West University, Potchefstroom



Clockwise in New York

Harp and violin duo Clockwise (Jacqueline Kerrod, harp and Marc Uys, violin) present an exciting programme of newly commissioned South African works at Trinity Church, Wall Street in New York. Alongside Robert Fokkens’s approach, encounter they present work by Michael Rennie, Matthijs van Dijk and Paul Hanmer. The concert will be telecast live and on-demand online - see for further information.

Trinity Church, Wall Street, New York

02 October at 1.00pm