strings and sticks and...

Sounds Underground starts their new season of events with an explosive set of modern works for violin, cello and percussion, written by some of the most compelling and characterful younger voices of today’s scene. Ravel’s classic sonata brings with it echoes of jazz and non-classical influences, something which a listener may also perceive in new works by Matt Rogers and Anna Meredith. Robert Fokkens’ duo explores an exceptionally beautiful and hushed new approach to micro-tonal writing, heightening the expressive effect of intonation.

Matthew Rogers White Crane for violin, cello and percussion*
Anna Meredith Hex I and II for violin and cello
Anna Meredith Flex for five metal pieces
Robert Fokkens Tracing Lines for violin and cello*
Virginia Samuel Coronae for violin and cello*
Larry Goves Five Kerouac Haiku for violin, cello and percussion*
Maurice Ravel Sonata for violin and cello


Tom Hankey (violin)
Oliver Coates (cello)
Sarah Cresswell (percussion)

Friday 24 October 2008 at 7.30pm
The Great Hall, Bishopsgate Institute, London

Tickets £10, or £6 concessions, available in advance or on the door.

Tel: 020 7392 9220

For more details visit the Bishopsgate Institute website.